Evolving at 80 years old

Walks with mom

Dear Friend,

Hope everyone was able to celebrate their moms this past weekend. I functioned as consultant to help the kids pull off a great day for Crizen. As for my mom, Linda Hasegawa, she was on a weekend pickleball retreat with people my age.

For those who know my mom, she is vibrant and always the life of the party wherever she goes. Since the passing of my dad, she relocated from Houston to Austin and quickly built a new life here.

The close proximity allows my mom to spend more time with me, Crizen, and the kids. Last December, we took our first family trip without my dad, an adventure in Costa Rica. We learned on the trip that my mom’s pickleball addiction was not maintaining her fitness.

Problem: Need to spend more time together and mom needs to improve her fitness level

Solution: Walk around Lady Bird Lake and spend quality active time together. I ruck with 50 pounds to equal out the effort level.

Week 1:

My mom was shocked we walked 3.8 miles. We had a couple heated debates during the walk, but an all around enriching experience and we’ve kept it going for two months thus far.

Last Week (Week 9):

I gently called out that she plateaued in her fitness and uncovered that she was NOT walking on her own. After a typical Hasegawa-style debate (loud all-out Japanese near shouting in public), we came to a common ground that she needs to walk regularly on her terms:

My mom maintaining her fitness was the single best way to express her motherly love for me and my pushing her was my act of love for her.

Future Outlook:

Compared to Day 1, she has gotten significantly stronger and now has plans to travel with her younger friends. First stop, Broadway shows this summer and then Europe in the fall. If we can maintain this effort slow and steady, in a few years we plan on another family adventure trip, this time to Peru.

My mom is such an inspiration not only in her fitness level as an 80 year old woman, but the capacity to take coaching (of all people from me) and modify her behavior at this age. Proving it’s never too late and the outcomes can be surprising.

At BodyTimeMD, we believe it is never too late to start the work and there is always room to grow as individuals. Hope this provides some insight, let’s talk if you are interested in finding out more about your body.

 This newsletter is intended for informational purposes only and does not constitute giving medical advice or endorsing any treatment. The use or application of the content herein forms no doctor-patient relationship. The information in this newsletter should not substitute for professional medical evaluation, advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or another qualified healthcare provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.

Walk yesterday. She plowed through 3 miles after a full day of pickleball and working out with her trainer. I definitely noticed a skip in her step: I attribute it to a mentality change from last week. So proud of her and grateful for the active time we get to spend together.

Thanks,

Mike