Foot Health Products

Foot Health - Part 2

Dear Friend,

I have been wearing Vibram Five finger shoes for 20 years, but that doesn’t mean switch to barefoot shoes and start ripping it.

Barefoot Shoe Specifications:

  • Wide toe box

  • Zero drop sole

Luckily there are many different manufacturers making shoes that meet the specs above. I switched my work shoes, rucking shoes, and casual shoes to Vivo. I liked the feeling so much, I recently changed my golf shoes and dropped my handicap (I wish).

Here are some brands of shoes we like:

  • Altra

  • Vivo

  • Xero

  • Vibram

  • Flux

  • True Linkswear (Golf)

Challenges with Barefoot shoes:

The wide toe box is a freeing feeling and have found to be in an easy transition for most people. The zero drop sole can be a harder change, especially in training. Runners in particular accumulate significant miles on their feet.

Years ago when I first started training in my Vibram five finger shoes, I continued to run 2 miles regularly. Two weeks into it, I injured my calf as a result of the heel drop. For this reason I cannot emphasize the importance of slow and steady, limit the miles while training up the foot and leg in this new foot position.

Another challenge is for individuals who require certain shoes for work or sports (heels, boots, cleats, etc.). The key here is to maximize time barefoot when not in these shoes. My daughter Nina is a soccer player and requires hours in tight fitting cleats. When at home, we maximize being barefoot with toe spacers. Her regular shoes Altra.

Finally, a quick plug for an event we’re having at the Red Fridge Society to talk about our Empower programs. Check out the link if you are interested.

At BodyTimeMD, we believe the body is fully integrated and in terms of movement, it all starts in the feet. Hope this provides some insight, let’s talk if you are interested in finding out more about your body.

 This newsletter is intended for informational purposes only and does not constitute giving medical advice or endorsing any treatment. The use or application of the content herein forms no doctor-patient relationship. The information in this newsletter should not substitute for professional medical evaluation, advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or another qualified healthcare provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.

Google maps took us down a single-track intermediate level trail along a cliff to get to a pump track in Minturn outside of Vail. Luckily we got there safely and the family didn’t disown me.

Thanks,

Mike